BANKS ARCADE // Announces its first album


Having started in Auckland a few years ago, Banks Arcade have always been a band resolutely geared towards innovation and ambition, welding elements of hard rock, electro and metalcore to their creative DNA. And while the band’s impending album was born amidst a global pandemic, the end result is a complete lack of restraints, reflecting the band’s personal journey of self-discovery while defying expectations; a fact that fans will be able to excitedly see live in action, with a sea of ​​live performances and tours imminent for the band, including an appearance at Download Festival in the UK in June, the capital is supporting alongside Thornhill in July, and 27 regional dates supporting When hearts wake up from August.

With two previous singles Do not start and Smile hinting at what’s to come in July from Banks Arcade, the band’s latest single to be someone charm with ambient instrumentals, hip hop hues and intimate soundscapes as vocalist Joshua O’Donnell pours out his heart with emphasis. Showcasing a softer yet still punchy side to Banks Arcade, the accompanying music video for to be someone is a perfectly wintry affair, with O’Donnell alone in a unique, blue-soaked setting.

Originally conceived as a concept album before turning into a capsule dedicated to introspection, future lovers was ultimately shaped by its own surrounding obstacles and unique opportunities. “The pandemic has definitely allowed the space to have no expectations,” O’Donnell says of the album’s design. “For me, I’ve been so busy over the last five years, trying to make this music work, and it’s finally freed up time to not have to go to work and focus. I basically moved back to New Zealand to my family home where everything is comfortable and nice, I was out in nature in New Zealand and was able to wake up every day and write.

The kind of releases that will follow future lovers this is where we can really grow and make it into something even bigger
[ Joshua O’Donnell ]

And while escaping into nature and familiar surroundings, O’Donnell was also given the opportunity to explore new sounds alongside uninterrupted introspection, expanding the unique range of genres in which he and the band wider Banks Arcade have been sunk over the years. “It wasn’t even just heavy music,” says O’Donnell. All of our musical journeys culminated, and there was space for creation to happen.

Made in New Zealand in the throes of an ongoing lockdown, canceled shows and ever-changing plans, Banks Arcade has teamed up with former bandmate Kenny Kersley to collaborate on sound design and engineer Rich Brian, jumping at a rare moment to get to Auckland and crash out of recording future lovers in just seven days. Regrouping in a “shitty Airbnb” for the duration, the group persevered through various obstacles, including a revolving door of illness with each member plagued by strep throat throughout the check-in process. But despite the unique complications, there was undeniably something special brewing at this Auckland studio that was felt across the board for the band.

“Everything was going well,” O’Donnell says, thinking back to the fast and furious taping of future lovers. Everything went smoothly and we had so much fun doing it. I think when we all think back to that time, it felt like we were doing something that was going to change everything for us, and we felt like we were making songs that were going to resonate with the industry and people. And obviously you’re not sure, because at that time we had no validation. But we all felt the same; I’m sure people will like it.”

With a sea of ​​gender delights lying in wait, future lovers is not your average heavy album: soulful hues and themes of to be someoneto the oscillating additions of metal, electronics and beyond Wine, Do not startand hip hop soaked fake your deaththere’s an all-pervading freshness ready to capture the imaginations and ears of new and old fans alike throughout the album.

Ending with a lyrical ambiguous question mark on the closing track Wine, future lovers leaves the door wide open for the limitless innovation and exploration of Banks Arcade, and will undoubtedly cultivate future band lovers alongside current fans. They’ve always wanted to make history, and with this debut album, Banks Arcade brings heart, passion and powerful execution to propel them to even greater heights:

“The kind of releases that will follow future lovers this is where we can really grow and make it into something even bigger,concludes O’Donnell. “That’s just the opening act.”

Pre-order here.




Catch Banks Arcade on the following dates with Thornhill, Dayseeker and Gravemind.

Thursday July 7 – Factory Theatre, Sydney (Lic AA)
Friday July 8 – Newcastle Hotel, Newcastle (18+)
Saturday July 9 – Eleven Dive Bar, Sunshine Coast (18+)
Sunday July 10 – The Triffid, Brisbane (18+)
Tuesday July 12 – UC Hub, Canberra (18+)
Thursday July 14 – Altar, Hobart (18+)
Friday July 15 – 170 Russell, Melbourne (18+)
Saturday July 16 – Lion Arts Factory, Adelaide (Lic AA)
Sunday July 17 – Amplifier Bar, Perth (18+)

Tickets available here.

Catch Banks Arcade on the following dates with In Hearts Wake, RedHook and Pridelands.

Thursday August 18 – Prince of Wales Hotel, Bunbury WA
Friday August 19 – Magnet House, Perth WA
Saturday August 20 – Freo.Social, Fremantle WA
Sunday August 21 – Indian Ocean Hotel, Scarborough WA
Saturday August 27 – Landmark, Darwin NT
Wednesday August 31 – Harvey Road Tavern, Gladstone QLD
Thursday, September 1 – Seabreeze Hotel, Mackay QLD
Friday September 2 – Otherwise, Townsville QLD
Saturday September 3 – Gilligans, Cairns QLD
Thursday, September 8 – Coolangatta Hotel, Coolangatta QLD
Friday September 9 – Eleven Dive Bar, Maroochydore QLD
Saturday September 10 – Blanks Space, Toowoomba QLD
Thursday September 22 – Drifters Wharf, Central Coast NSW
Friday 23 September – Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle NSW
Saturday September 24 – Manning Bar, Sydney NSW (Early Show)
Saturday September 24 – Manning Bar, Sydney NSW (Late Show)
Thursday 29 September – Uni Bar, Wollongong NSW
Friday 30 September – UC Hub, Canberra ACT
Saturday 1 October – Beer Deluxe, Albury NSW
Wednesday October 5 – Volta, Ballarat VIC
Thursday 6 October – Sooki Lounge, Belgrave VIC
Friday 7 October – The Wool Exchange, Geelong VIC
Saturday, October 8 – Pier Bandroom, Frankston VIC
Friday October 14 – Altar, Hobart TAS
Saturday 15 October – Lion Arts Factory, Adelaide SA
Sunday October 16 – Northern Sound System, Elizabeth SA (Lic AA)
Friday October 21 – Vinnie’s Dive, Gold Coast QLD
Saturday 22 October – The Northern, Byron Bay NSW

Tickets available here.

Comments are closed.