Birmingham City release squad numbers for 2021/22 season with key omission

Birmingham City have confirmed their rosters for the 2021/22 season – Adam Clayton not making the roster.

The Blues kick off Lee Bowyer’s first full away campaign against Sheffield United on Saturday, traveling to Bramall Lane for the Championship opener.

Neil Etheridge is unlikely to start against the Blades as he continues his recovery from Covid-19, but the Philippines international has taken over the No.1 jersey occupied by Andres Prieto last season.

Etheridge is back in light training, but Matija Sarkic is set to make her competitive debut for the Blues on Saturday after being loaned from Wolves earlier this month. The Montenegro goalkeeper will wear the number 13.

Video upload

Video unavailable

Elsewhere, Tahith Chong is the new No.7 after signing a Manchester United loan while ex-Stoke midfielder Ryan Woods will be No.6.

Chuks Aneke takes number 15, Riley McGree canned 18, Dion Sanderson 21, Juan Castillo 23 and Jordan Graham 24.

Clayton is available for a transfer this summer after completing just one year of the two-year contract he signed in September of last year.

Brought back by former Blues boss Aitor Karanka, who managed Clayton at Middlesbrough, the 32-year-old only made 14 league appearances last season.

None of these reported to Bowyer, who replaced Karanka in March before leading the Blues to safety.

Clayton’s omission from the squad means the number 8 shirt he wore last season is left vacant – potentially for a new signing.

Bowyer admitted this week that players need to leave the Blues before they can bring in more new faces. “We have to get out a few more, I think,” he said.

“The players we brought in, we brought something a little different from what we had last year when we first arrived.

“Our squad today is doing fine, I still think we need a couple more but as we are now, with a few weeks before the transfer window I’m sure people will start to take an interest. to our players and hopefully that opens a window to bring in a few more.

Full numbers of the Blues 2021/22

1 Neil Etheridge

2 Maxime Colin

3 Kristian Pedersen

4 Marc Roberts

5 Georges friend

6 Ryan Woods

7 Tahith Chong

9 Scott Hogan

10 Lukas Jutkiewicz

11 Jeremiah Bela

12 Harlee Dean

13 Matija Sarkic

14 Jonathan Leko

15 Chuks Aneke

16 Sam Cosgrove

17 Ivan Sanchez

18 year old Riley Mcgree

20 Gary Gardner

21 Dion Sanderson

23 Juan Castillo

24 Jordan Graham

27 Connal Trueman

31 Charlie Lakin

34 Ivan Sunjic

37 Odin Bailey

38 Zach Jeacock

40 Adan George

44 Caolan Boyd Munce

47 Ryan Stirk

50 Nico Gordon

51 Kyle Hurst

52 Marcel Oakley

53 Tate Campbell

54 Keyendrah Simmonds

Comments are closed.