COVID-19 vaccines: Fraser Health mayors challenge each other to achieve community immunity

VANCOUVER – Mayors in BC’s health region hardest hit by the COVID-19 pandemic are challenging each other to increase local immunization rates.

In a friendly competition, the mayors of Fraser Health Region see who can meet certain vaccination thresholds – and ultimately community immunity – first.

The challenge will mark milestones at immunization levels of 70, 75 and 80 percent. For now, these measurements will be calculated based on the first doses of COVID-19 vaccines.

“Fraser Health has recorded the highest number of cases in our province and everyone is on the bridge as we work to provide COVID-19 vaccines to everyone in our area who wants one. As an interconnected region, vaccines are important whether you live in a larger city or a smaller community area, ”said Dr. Victoria Lee, President and CEO of Fraser Health, in a press release.

Fraser Health says it will post updates on the challenge on social media with local mayors.

“I am grateful to our mayors who have come together to meet this challenge and for their continued support, leadership and contributions throughout this pandemic,” said Lee.

“As community leaders, they have a unique understanding of the needs of their region and will go a long way to helping us extend our reach as much as possible at this critical time. “

All people 12 years of age and older are eligible to reserve their first dose of vaccine in British Columbia. The second dose invitations are starting to go out now. Save, visit the province’s immunization website.

The following cities and districts participate in the challenge:

  • Abbotsford: Mayor Henry Braun

  • Anmore: Mayor John McEwen

  • Belcarra: Mayor Jamie Ross

  • Burnaby: Mayor Mike Hurley

  • Chilliwack: Mayor Ken Popove

  • Coquitlam: Mayor Richard Stewart

  • Delta: Mayor George V. Harvie

  • Harrison Hot Springs: Mayor Leo Facio

  • Hope: Mayor Peter Robb

  • Kent: Mayor Sylvia Pranger

  • City of Langley: Mayor Val van den Broek

  • Township of Langley: Mayor Jack Froese

  • Maple Ridge: Mayor Mike Morden

  • Mission: Mayor Paul Horn

  • New Westminster: Mayor Jonathan X. Côté

  • Pitt Meadows: Mayor Bill Dingwall

  • Port Coquitlam: Mayor Brad West

  • Port Moody: Mayor Rob Vagramov

  • White Rock: Mayor Darryl Walker

Comments are closed.