When will the Green List countries be announced? | Travel News | Travel

The government is in the process of determining which countries will be added to the so-called green list – meaning Britons can travel abroad without needing to self-quarantine on their return. International travel will be allowed from the UK from May 17, with countries classified in a traffic light system based on their Covid risk.

Green list countries will require Covid testing before and after travel – with return testing taking place within 72 hours.

Travel to Amber List countries will require 10 days of mandatory home isolation, with PCR testing on days two and eight.

There will also be the option to pay for a Covid test on the fifth day to end the quarantine earlier.

And Red List countries will not be allowed direct travel, with anyone returning to the UK from a Red List country having to quarantine for 11 days in a hotel at a cost of up to £ 1,750 per person.

Read more: An expat from Benidorm described the ‘major problems’ of Brexit

So when will the Green List countries be announced?

As of yet, no official date has been given for a trip update, however, it is believed to be imminent.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said on April 9 that the full list of countries would be revealed two or three weeks later.

The government did not meet this deadline, but an announcement is expected in early May.

This means that by around May 14, countries on the green list will likely be described.

Express.co.uk will update this page with more information when it is revealed.

Some MPs are calling for the list to be announced as soon as possible to give the travel industry enough time to prepare for the May 17 date.

However, MPs from the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on the coronavirus urged the government to “discourage all international leisure travel.”

This is due to concerns about the danger of importing new variants into the UK, which they say could “lead to further blockages and, inevitably, further loss of life”.

However, that does not mean that these countries will be free to travel – as each may have their own rules on who can enter and how entry will be allowed.

At the time of writing, there are strict rules for entering the United States, anyone flying from the United Kingdom within 14 days of entry is not allowed.

Likewise, Iceland has entry requirements, with authorized travelers who are

  • Fully vaccinated and can show proof, or
  • Already cured of the virus and may show evidence of a positive PCR test, dating back more than 14 days

Which countries will be on the red list?

Again, there is not yet a definitive ‘red list’ as of May 17, but travel has been banned from the UK and vice versa from several countries.

India is one of them, where a recent spike in Covid cases has devastated the country and put pressure on hospitals across the country.

Countries are sending medical supplies to India in a bid to tackle growing cases and the lack of integrated Covid treatments like oxygen.

Currently, UK nationals from countries on the banned list can enter the UK – but must self-quarantine in a government-approved hotel for 10 days.

These countries are:

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Green cap
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Comments are closed.