We made a disgusting find in our Airbnb apartment – all we got was a £13 refund

A COUPLE were furious after making a disgusting discovery in their Airbnb – and all they got was a meager £13 refund.

Chloe and Matt’s mini-break-in melbourne had already gotten off to a bad start when they arrived to find their apartment was filthy.


Chloe and Matt first neglected the dirt in their Airbnb so they could enjoy their romantic getawayCredit: News.com.au
But the couple were left horrified after discovering what appeared to be a crack pipe in the flat's bathroom


But the couple were left horrified after discovering what appeared to be a crack pipe in the flat’s bathroomCredit: News.com.au

The couple, originally from Queensland, Australiainitially decided to ignore the lack of cleanliness so they could enjoy their romantic getaway.

After checking in on December 30, they began to adjust to life in the apartment and were able to overlook the filthiness.

But Australians were horrified when Matt got out of the shower and noticed a strange object sitting on a pile of dust.

Upon closer inspection of the debris, he realized it was actually a crack pipe.

The stunned guest said news.com.au“I noticed what looked a bit like a straw on top of the shower stall and was curious so I went to see what it was.

“I picked up a crack pipe. There was definitely residue inside.”

The couple said they felt extremely ‘dirty’ after making the grim discovery and suspected the flat had not been cleaned.

“At least you know a hotel has been cleaned by room service,” Matt continued.

“Whereas with that, it was like someone else had just left. It really didn’t look like it had been cleaned.”

The duo then received another blow after they tried to raise their concerns about the property with Airbnb.

The rental company told guests they could only help with their cleanliness complaint as more than 72 hours had passed since their stay began.

But Matt says their response “didn’t seem fair” as they didn’t even apologize to the pair.

“Holidays have been great, just the kind Airbnb that tones things down.”

Although the beloved couple paid a total of £825 for their accommodation, Airbnb said they could only refund them 10% of their first night – which cost a dismal £13.

Chloe and Matt then decided to contact their hosts directly about the drug paraphernalia hiding in their bathroom.

The couple said they also found a dirty air conditioner and a broken clothes dryer at the property.

But the hosts nonchalantly replied, “Thank you for letting us know. We’ll get rid of it.”

Australians were infuriated by the lack of response from Airbnb and the home owner and said they should “do better”.

Matt fumed, “It put me off using Airbnb again, because of the customer service and the approach they took with the apartment.”

An Airbnb spokeswoman said: “We have zero tolerance for this type of behavior and have taken appropriate action on the host.

“We recognize the distress this must have caused the guest, and have reached out to apologize and issue a full refund.

“While issues on Airbnb are rare, our global community support team is available 24/7 and we take action on issues brought to our attention.

“The safety of our community is one of our top priorities and we continue to enforce strong community policies and standards on Airbnb.”

The home rental company reportedly refunded Chloe and Matt in full following their outrage.

They were also offered a travel voucher for a future stay, while taking action against the Melbourne home host.

We have already told how a family of 12 found themselves stranded on the side of the road when they discovered the Airbnb they booked was a construction site.

Bill Cosby rape accuser breaks silence after new lawsuit filed by 5 women
New clue to Idaho murders emerges as cops search for owner of white car

The big brood was on its way to a wedding with three children in tow, but claims they were turned away by Airbnb.

TikToker Renee shared videos of the house which was clearly halfway through renovations which quickly went viral.

The pair were infuriated by the hosts' seemingly unalarmed response


The pair were infuriated by the hosts’ seemingly unalarmed responseCredit: News.com.au
Matt has vowed never to use Airbnb again after initially being offered a meager £13 refund


Matt has vowed never to use Airbnb again after initially being offered a meager £13 refundCredit: News.com.au

Comments are closed.