Scottsdale implements mandatory permit, license for short-term rentals

SCOTTSDALE, Arizona (3TV/CBS 5) — Scottsdale is a hotspot for Airbnb and other short-term vacation rentals. Now, just ahead of the Super Bowl & WM Phoenix Open, a new mandatory permit system is in place. Starting Monday, owners of all short-term rentals need a new license to operate in Scottsdale. Those who do not comply face heavy fines.

There have been shootings, crimes and even deaths in some locations. Many people living in Scottsdale have asked for help, saying their neighborhoods are now unsafe. However, residents believe the permit system is a solid first step in getting help. “The purpose of registration is to benefit everyone. We’ve had tragic deaths, illegal activity, dangerous situations in those thousands of short-term rentals,” Councilor Solange Whitehead said.

The City of Scottsdale now requires official registration and licensing for short-term rentals. “It’s just a registration so we know who these people are, we can identify the properties and we can contact them in case of an emergency,” Whitehead said.

The registration fee is $250. The problem? Currently, only around 1,800 of the 5,000 eligible properties have applied. Whitehead says those who don’t comply could face a $1,000 fine. “At least the signup, provided people follow the rules they’re not going to rush it seems, you get an idea of ​​where they are,” said Susan Edwards of the Arizona Neighborhood Alliance. She believes that registration is a good first step. “Registration is something, but unfortunately it won’t solve the problem,” adds Edwards.

But she hopes the state of Arizona will do more to crack down on short-term rentals. “He’s destroying neighborhoods in Scottsdale. There are relatively few areas where majority owners or residents remain. You have no quarter; you have no neighbors. If you have a problem or some kind of crisis, who do you go to for help because there’s no one there,” Edwards explained.

New licensing requirements include notifying neighbors around your property that you are operating a short-term rental, obtaining a sales tax license, and posting a short rental notice with information. of security. If you live in Scottsdale and know of a short-term property that is not permitted, you can check the city’s website and submit a complaint.

Comments are closed.