Snow tires compulsory in 47 departments from this Monday

For circular in certain municipalities of 48 departments, it will be mandatory to have snow tires (©PhotoGranary – Adobestock)

This will be the novelty of this winter : vehicles which circulate, even occasionally, in certain French departments must be equipped from November 1, 2021 of Winter tires (snow tires) or chains.

This measure, which is part of the Mountain Law II and published in the Official Journal in 2020effective serums until March 31, 2022. Its aim: to reduce the number of traffic jams on mountain roads and improve driver safety.

Update: a tolerance for the first year

For the first year of application of the measure, the authorities will be tolerant. The Ministry of the Interior indeed assured Monday, October 4, 2021 that motorists who do not have snow tires or chains from November 1 in the areas subject to the obligation will not be “sanctioned”.
“Information and educational operations will accompany the implementation of this system in the coming weeks,” he added.

Which vehicles and departments are concerned? What equipment will be required? In which case ? We enlighten you.

Only departments located in mountain ranges

In total, 47 departments will be subject to this new regulation, all located in or near mountain ranges (Alps, Corsica, Massif Central, Massif Jura, Pyrenees, Vosges Massif).

>> Discover the 47 departments affected by the measure

The following are therefore concerned: Ain, Allier, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Hautes-Alpes, Alpes-Maritimes, Ardèche, Ariège, Aude, Aveyron, Cantal, Corrèze, Corse-du-Sud, Haute-Corse, Côte-d’Or, Creuse, Doubs, Drôme, Gard, Haute-Garonne, Isère, Jura, Loire, Haute-Loire, Lot, Lozère, Meurthe-et-Moselle, Moselle, Nièvre, Puy-de-Dôme, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Hautes-Pyrénées, Pyrénées-Orientales, Bas-Rhin, Haut-Rhin, Rhône, Haute-Saône, Saône-et-Loire, Savoie, Haute-Savoie, Tarn, Tarn-et-Garonne, Var, Vaucluse, Haute-Vienne, Vosges, Yonne and the Territory of Belfort.

Videos: currently on Actu

On the other hand, the precise list of municipalities in requested vehicle equipment becomes mandatory was developed by the prefects, “after consultation with the local elected officials concerned”, specifies the site

Areas affected by mandatory snow tires
Areas affected by mandatory snow tires (©Service-public)

In total, nearly 4,400 municipalities are concerned by this obligation throughout the country. To find out if yours is concerned, consult the website of your prefecture.

What types of equipment?

Whether light vehicles, utility vehicles, motorhomes, heavy goods vehicles, coaches or buses, the rule will be the same for all.

In the areas defined by the prefects, vehicles must wear metal or textile snow chains making it possible to equip at least two drive wheels, or else four winter tires stamped “3PMSF” or “at least “M+S” “for the transitional period of the first three years of application of the new regulations”, details the Road safety.

However, vehicles fitted with studded tires are not subject to this measure.

A new signage

Users who enter an area where the equipment obligation applies will be warned: new signs will be deployed on the roads, indicating the perimeter of the area and the winter periodto remind users that these obligations only apply from November 1 to March 31 of the following year.

New panels will be installed in the 48 departments.
New panels will be installed in the 48 departments. (©Securite-routiere.gouv)

At the same time, the “B26” traffic sign (a blue circle with a chained white tire) confirms that, on snowy roads, including outside the winter period, the wearing – and not the simple possession – of chains remains compulsory. .

In case of violation, you will have to paya fourth-class fine, or 135 euros. As for the vehicle, it will be immobilized.

Follow all the news from your favorite cities and media by subscribing to My News.

Comments are closed.