Tomball High athletes selected to all-district baseball and softball teams

Baseball and softball coaches at the Tomball Independent School District released teams from all districts in District 20-5A following the conclusion of the 2018-19 regular season and playoffs.

The Cougars ranked first in the district with a 29-4-2 overall record and a 16-0 record under head coach Doug Rush. Porter placed second, Kingwood Park third, and Willis and Montgomery tied for fourth. Willis won the tiebreaker.

The Lady Cougars finished fifth in the district with a 15-15-1 record overall and 9-7 under head coach Matt Marshall. Willis placed first, Lake Creek second, Kingwood Park third and Huntsville fourth.

In the playoffs, the Cougars finished regional quarterfinals after losing to Magnolia 2-0 (1-0, 10-0).

In men’s superlatives, Tomball infielder/senior pitcher Eric Oakes was named Most Valuable Player.

“Oakes is a very good player; he was the district MVP two years ago as a sophomore (all-district first-team pitcher as a junior),” Rush said. “He’s a special guy both ways, he can really throw, hit and can play second base, just a good player.”

Oakes is a Texas State signer who signed on in 2017.

“Playing for Tomball the last 4 years in college has been the best 4 years of my baseball career,” Oakes said via Twitter after the 2018-19 season, also thanking his coaches, teammates and everyone who helped. supported the team last year, while giving the advice of the subclasses.

His teammate, senior catcher/pitcher Eli Kerim, was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Kerim is a Texas Tech signer, enlisted last September.

“I am proud to announce that I have made a 4 year commitment to play baseball at Texas Tech,” Kerim said via Twitter. “Thank you to everyone who helped make this dream a reality.”

Cougar pitcher/sophomore Mason Marriott was named Newcomer of the Year.

Marriott signed on with Baylor last February.

“I am proud to say that I have committed to Baylor University to further my baseball and college career,” Marriott said via Twitter. “I would like to say thank you to my family, my friends and my coaches for always pushing me to do my best.”

Doug Rush of Tomball was named coach of the year.

Rush took over the program in 2011 and led the Cougars to the Class 4A state championship in 2013. His current run at Tomball includes over 200 wins, as well as multiple playoffs, a state championship, and a trip to the tournament. of state.

“We’re very proud of what we’ve accomplished here,” Rush said. “Obviously we’re proud of that, but it also adds an extra element of pressure on us. Because now the expectation isn’t just to get to the playoffs, or this and that, it’s to go deep and get to the state tournament pretty much every year.

Montgomery senior Dalton Davis was named Offensive MVP.

In girls superlatives, junior shortstop Tomball Imani Edwards was named MVP.

“She’s one of those special athletes that coaches love to have on their team,” Marshall said. “She wants to learn, wants to improve, wants to help others and she’s just a good natural leader. The girls follow her lead and listen to what she has to say because they know she’s passionate and knows her stuff.

Edwards is a commitment from the University of Tulsa.

“Glad to announce that I have verbally committed to playing softball and continuing my education at the University of Tulsa,” Edwards said via Twitter last July.

Willis’ junior infielder Hannah Earls was named Defensive Player of the Year and her teammate, junior pitcher Ashley Vallejo, shared co-pitcher of the year honors with the sophomore Lake Creek, Emiley Kennedy.

Lady Lion’s fellow freshman Caelee Clark was named Rookie of the Year and Lake Creek’s Michelle Rochinski was named Coach of the Year.

Kendall Daniels, a freshman at Kingwood Park, was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Selections of all the districts of Tomball boys

Senior Cody Ryan was named first-team pitcher, senior Christian Marshall was named first-team offensive player and senior Kasen Handal was named first-team shortstop.

Senior Darrion Eddie was named second-team offensive player.

Sophomore Casen Neumann earned an honorable mention at first base, junior Mitchell Aitken was named an honorable pitcher, and senior Christian McCoy was named an honorable designated hitter.

Tomball girls selections from all districts

Sophomore third baseman Amanda Skivington was named to the first team.

Senior pitcher Jeryn Cook was named to the second team, senior receiver Katie Ellington was named to the second team and junior infielder Taylor Spexarth was named to the second team.

Junior receiver Celeste Finch received an honorable mention and junior receiver Emily Redden received an honorable mention.

Other selections


First team pitchers

Willis senior Daniel Shafer, Porter senior Zane Russell, Montgomery junior Charlie Taylor and Kingwood Park junior Jackson Rodriguez.

First-team receiver

Kingwood Park senior Clay Sowell.

First-team first baseman

Kingwood Park senior Parker Roberts.

First team second baseman

Kingwood Park senior Matthew Burke.

First team shortstop

Lake Creek sophomore John Spikerman.

First team third goal

Elijah Uribe Jr. of Lake Creek.

First team outfielders

Porter senior Max Dias, Lake Creek sophomore Joe Ferraro, Kingwood Park senior Tommy Ivey and Huntsville senior Kyle Davis.

First Team Utility/Designated Hitter

Main carrier Bryan Westenburg.

Second team receiver

Porter sophomore Seth Sherlock.

Second team first baseman

New Caney senior Carlos Robles.

Second team second baseman

Weston Dean, Montgomery sophomore.

Second team shortstop

Matt King, a sophomore at Kingwood Park.

Second team third base

Montgomery Jr. Tristan Whitehead.

Second-team outfielders

Porter junior Aidan Heard and Kingwood Park sophomore Zach Rennard.

Second-Team Utility/Designated Hitter

Huntsville Jr. Jesse Hoke.

Second-team pitchers

Montgomery senior Dillon Smith and Willis junior Mason Creacy.

Honorable Mention (not complete)

Shortstop Zach Greenhouse, third baseman Cody Fay and pitcher Derek Brieden, Caney Creek.

First baseman Cole Morris, Montgomery.

Pitcher Jay Piotrowski, Lake Creek.


First team selections

Junior TeTe Hollis, sophomore Marissa Fletcher, senior Sarah Brooks and senior Hailey Eten, Willis.

Brooke Gainous, Kayln Daniel, Abbie Forrester and Hannah Wilburn, Kingwood Park.

Jensen Vienna, Kylie Grisham and Madeline Knapp, Huntsville.

Sophomore Jenny Robison, junior Lauren Wilking and junior Cheyenne Goble, Lake Creek.

Peyton Vasquez senior and Stella Shaw junior, Porter.

Senior Maggie Hendrix, Montgomery.

Second team selections

Sophomore Corigan Baird, Erin Plunkett and Savannah Young, New Caney.

Senior Piper Maguire, junior Faith Cahoe and sophomore Lacy Chilek, Montgomery.

Junior Madison Matranga and sophomore Cynthia Moreno, Willis.

Anna Cox and Blakely Niles, Caney Creek.

Half Krikorian, Lake Creek; and Arriana Wright, Porter.

Honorable mentions

Esabella Garcia, Kaleyana Bankhead, Willis; Khérigynn Parker, Caney Creek; Brenna Kelly, Trinity Loukanis, Reagan Davis, Lake Creek; Kyla Heine, Charlie Burns, Aiyana Holloman, Jessey Nunez, Hannah Spurlock, Porter; and Kasen Morkisch, Ashton Mueller, Jordan Mueller, New Caney.

[email protected]

Comments are closed.